Home  /  News  /  Newsroom

ODOC honors 20 staff at 2017 Employee Awards ceremony

ODOC honors 20 staff at 2017 Employee Awards ceremony

Group photo of the 2017 employee award winners. 2017 Employee Award winners 

OKLAHOMA CITY - The Oklahoma Department of Corrections held its annual Employee Awards ceremony Nov. 17 at 11:30 a.m. at the Will Rogers Theatre in Oklahoma City. Nineteen employees were honored for their hard work and dedication to the agency and the State of Oklahoma.

The ceremony began with the Presentation of the Colors by Oklahoma Department of Corrections Honor Guard. The ODOC Honor Guard included Jason Madris, Cayla Seawright, Kameron Bonard and David Edelman. Kimberley Owen, the Executive Assistant to the Director, sang the national anthem.

ODOC Director, Joe Allbaugh, welcomed attendees and provided opening remarks. Sen. Roger Thompson, R-District 8, was the keynote speaker. Thompson commended ODOC employees’ work ethic and dedication to the rehabilitation of the inmate population. Agency Chaplain and Volunteer Coordinator Leo Brown gave the invocation before lunch was served.

Board of Corrections member Adam Luck, Rep. Greg Babinec, R-District 33, and Director Allbaugh presented the awards while Director of Communications, Matt Elliott, read biographies of each award winner.

While 20 employees received awards, the ODOC is deeply grateful for all staff’s commitment and excellence in continuing its mission to serve the public, its employees and the inmate population.

The employees who received awards are listed below.

 Volunteer of the Year - Christie Luther

Volunteer Organization of the Year - Kay Stout

Teacher of the Year - Sherri Toole

Nurse of the Year - Jody Miller

Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendations - Mike McMillen

Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendations - Larry Henson & Chris Thompson

Oklahoma State Penitentiary Special Commendations Group Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendations - Ty Hull

Meritorious Service Award - Tyler Broussard

Correctional Officer of the Year - Tammy Werner

Correctional Supervisor of the Year - Bryan Cox

Probation and Parole Officer of the Year - Cassandra Wylie

Employee of the Year - Michele Minietta

Contact DOC

Main Location
3400 North Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73111-4298

PO Box 11400
Oklahoma City, OK  73136-0400

Phone: (405) 425-2500
Fax: (405) 425-2578

Contact ODOC

In compliance with the reporting requirements of 74 O.S. 3106.4[C], this agency is making known that it stores name, birth date, place of birth, mother’s maiden name, biometric records, Social Security number, official state or government issued driver license or identification number, alien registration number, government passport number, and employer or taxpayer identification numbers.   The personally identifiable data is stored both electronically and in confidential paper files.  The data is shared in compliance with court orders and agreements with other government bodies.

Subscribe to DOC Updates!

 Email Updates 
To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

Top Resources

Closed Records

Employment Verification (405) 425-2644

Sex and Violent Offender Registration

Victim Services

Visitation Policy

Volunteer Opportunities

If you or someone you know is thinking about suicide, call Onelife at 800-559-9544 or the National Suicide Prevention lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Click here for more suicide awareness information.