Home  /  News  /  Newsroom

Elected leaders honor Oklahoma Department of Corrections staff

Elected leaders honor Oklahoma Department of Corrections staff

Above: Oklahoma Sen. Wayne Shaw speaks on the floor of the State Senate on Thursday, Feb. 27, 2020, as part of Oklahoma Department of Corrections staff appreciation day at the Capitol in Oklahoma City. Sen. Shaw authored the resolution which honored ODOC's employee award recipients from last fall, men and women who have saved lives, protect the public and dutifully serve their state.

OKLAHOMA CITY—Members of the Oklahoma Senate honored the courage and sacrifice of Oklahoma Department of Corrections employees on Thursday, acknowledging their service to the State of Oklahoma. 

Lawmakers applauded ODOC staff, who were honored at the agency’s annual awards banquet in November. Sen. Wayne Shaw, R-Grove, and Rep. Justin Humphrey, R-Lane, sponsored the resolutions, which were read in the Senate chamber. 

“No one has a more challenging or important job protecting the public and preparing inmates for life outside prison than the men and women honored here today,” ODOC Director Scott Crow said. “Their effort and dedication play a huge part as we work to make Oklahoma a Top-Ten state for corrections. I thank Senator Shaw and Representative Humphrey for sponsoring the resolutions that honored our people today - and for his support of ODOC and public safety agencies.”

Thursday’s honorees included Correctional Officer of the Year, Sgt. Christopher Chapa. Chapa, with the help of a facility nurse and others, used his First Aid and CPR training to revive a North Fork Correctional Center inmate injured in a violent assault.

The inmate had been stabbed through the heart, was not breathing and had no pulse, but he survived his near-fatal injuries due to Sgt. Chapa’s and his teammates’ heroism.

Other honorees from Thursday included 2019’s Employee of the Year, Barbie Rounsaville, who manages ODOC’s Mental Health Unit at Joseph Harp Correctional Center. The unit houses dozens of the most seriously mentally ill inmates in the state prison system.

Other ODOC Employee of the Year recipients were:

Officer Michael Harold – Probation and Parole Officer of the Year

Trish Baker, Correctional Teacher, Eddie Warrior Correctional Center – Teacher of the Year

Charity Rosenthal, R.N., Howard McLeod Correctional Center – Nurse of the Year

Officer Alexandra Miller – Probation and Parole Supervisor of the Year

Lt. Brad Morris, Jim E. Hamilton Correctional Center – Correctional Officer Supervisor of the Year

ODOC honorees were also greeted by House Speaker Charles McCall (R-Atoka) and Representative Justin Humphrey (R-Lane).

Contact DOC

Main Location
3400 North Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73111-4298

PO Box 11400
Oklahoma City, OK  73136-0400

Phone: (405) 425-2500
Fax: (405) 425-2578

Contact ODOC

In compliance with the reporting requirements of 74 O.S. 3106.4[C], this agency is making known that it stores name, birth date, place of birth, mother’s maiden name, biometric records, Social Security number, official state or government issued driver license or identification number, alien registration number, government passport number, and employer or taxpayer identification numbers.   The personally identifiable data is stored both electronically and in confidential paper files.  The data is shared in compliance with court orders and agreements with other government bodies.

Subscribe to DOC Updates!

 Email Updates 
To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

Top Resources

Closed Records

Employment Verification (405) 425-2644

Sex and Violent Offender Registration

Victim Services

Community Outreach

Visitation Policy

Volunteer Opportunities

If you or someone you know is thinking about suicide, call Onelife at 800-559-9544 or the National Suicide Prevention lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Click here for more suicide awareness information.